The Franciscan spirit at one with nature. At Capuchos you will discover a convent which dates back to the 16th century.
The Convent at Santa Cruz da Serra embodies the universal ideals of fraternity and brotherhood inherent in the values held by the Fransiscan priests who inhabited it.
The Chalet was built by King Ferdinand II and his second wife Elise Hensler, Countess of Edla, between 1864 and 1869, in keeping with the Alpine chalet model that was in vogue in Europe at the time.
The palace was designed by the architects Thomas James Knowles (father and son) and built in 1858, having been commissioned by Sir Francis Cook, Viscount of Monserrate.
The design of the gardens took advantage of the unique microclimates of the mountains to produce a magnificent park in which over 3,000 exotic species can still be seen today.
Located on one of the hilltops of the Serra de Sintra, the Moorish Castle is a fortress built in around the 10th century after the Muslim conquest of the Iberian Peninsula.
The granite blocks of the Serra are ringed by two irregular-shaped walls, erected amid huge boulders and standing on the top of sheer cliffs.
Pena National Palace, in the historical town of Sintra and part of the Pena park, represents one of the best expressions in the world of 19th-century architectural Romanticism.
On 7 July 2007, it was selected as one of the seven wonders of Portugal.
The Royal Palace of Queluz, also called the National Palace of Queluz, was built in the 18th century.
One of the last great buildings in the Rococo style in Europe, it was built as a summer retreat for Prince D. Pedro of Bragança.
The National Palace of Sintra is also known as Palácio da Vila (Town Palace) and was one of the Portuguese royal palaces.
It is located in the centre of the town. Building started in the 15th century, but the author of its design is unknown.
Palácio da Regaleira (Regaleira Palace) is the main building and the more common name for Quinta da Regaleira (Regaleira Estate).
It is also known as Palácio (palace) do Monteiro dos Milhões, after the nickname (Millions Monteiro) of its former owner, António Augusto Carvalho Monteiro.