As a result of a reorganisation of the Air Museum, a new one opened to the public in Sintras Air Base Nº 1 at the end of January 2010, allowing us to continue to fulfil our commitment to preserving, restoring and exhibiting our national aviation heritage.
Spread over three different sites - Sintra, Alverca and Ovar - we had the support of Sintras Town Hall and ANA and received the TAP and ANA collections thereby enriching an existing collection of over 100 aircraft and 9,500 inventoried objects.
It is located in a former watermill built at the start of the 20th century in Azinhaga da Sardinha to make use of the River Porto waters.
On 24 September 1974, Mestre (Master) Pedro Augusto dos Anjos Teixeira officially bequeathed his whole (neo-realist) collection as well as most of his father's, Artur Gaspar dos Anjos Teixeira, to Sintra Council thereby allowing the works of two great contemporary master sculptors to remain in one place, which only opened to the public in 1976. The Master moved into the building and turned it into a public house-museum and an open studio where he taught sculpture from 1977 to 1992.
Since the author, Ferreira de Castro, expressed a desire that his mortal remains stay in Sintra, (which is what eventually happened) he quite happily accepted the suggestion of two renowned authors, one from Sintra and one from Lisbon, that he donate them. They were Francisco Costa, then director of the Municipal Library and Alexandre Cabral who had access to the considerable bibliographic and documentary collection at the Camiliana de Sintra to further his research.
The space is dedicated to the work of this German painter, a winner of both national and international awards and with an extensive curriculum mostly obtained in Spain.
His current work, focusing the theme of «Sintra», transforms the museum into a living space where the visitor has access to the artist's studio and can appreciate his works that are continuously being renewed.
The museum also includes a shop, cafeteria and recreational area in the garden.
Casa-Museu de Leal da Câmara can be found in the house where Mestre (Master) Leal da Câmara lived since 1930 until his death in 1948. The building at one time belonged to Sebastião José de Carvalho e Melo - the Marquis of Pombal and at the time served as the staging post for the changeover of horses located between the Granja do Marquês Estate (Quinta da Granja do Marquês) in Terrugem, Sintra and the Palácio de Oeiras (Oeiras Palace).
In the 19th century it became a field hospital for Portuguese troops during the French invasions. Donated to Sintra Town Hall in 1965 upon the death of the Masters widow, the museum has, since then, provided the population with a unique cultural service dedicated to the life and work of the artist.
MU.SA, the Sintra Museum of the Arts, offers us a journey throughout the figurative art existing in the Municipal Collection of Contemporary Art of Sintra and the paintings and sculptures created by Portuguese and foreign artists residing in Portugal. The Museum also has a varied and multi-purpose programme, which includes showing art works of diverse themes and techniques by artists of different generations, as well as works by local, national and internationally renowned creators.
The News Museum is Europe’s greatest Media and Communication experience.
The Museum occupies the space that was previously home to the Toy Museum in the historical centre of Sintra. It evokes and reveals media coverage of events in recent history and allows visitors to interact with Radio and TV.
The Oficina da Ciência de Sintra (the Science Workshop of Sintra) is a non-profit association with the objective of disseminating and promoting scientific and technological cooperation with the Community, as well as other relevant aspects, such as social and cultural areas.
The origins of São Miguel de Odrinhas Museum of Archaeology date back to the mid 16th century. This is when, thanks to the personal initiative of a few scholars, including Francisco dOllanda who became a particularly prominent figure, the local chapel began to gather together an important collection of Roman inscriptions found in nearby fields and villages.
After a few centuries of neglect, in 1955, Sintra Town Hall decided to erect a small building which would house all those important monuments and it embarked on an archaeological excavation of the neighbouring Roman ruins thereby enhancing local tourism and culture.
Sintra Myths and Legends is the most recent tourist attraction of the Historical Centre.
The interactive centre of Myths and Legends invites you on a journey into the mysticism, secrets and romanticism of Sintra, through history, music and literature. You will be travelling along a path that takes you through seventeen different spaces, using set design, multimedia technology and sensory experiences, merging reality and fiction on various levels. This exhibition involved the participation of a team of architects, set designers, writers and historians as well as experts in audiovisual technology, holograms, sensory effects, augmented reality and 3D film.
Sintra's Natural History Museum is located in the historic centre of Sintra's Old Town, on Rua do Paço, in a 19th century building (1893, more specifically). It houses an ongoing public exhibition which emerged from the collection belonging to Miguel Barbosa and his wife, Fernanda Barbosa, who, for over 50 years built a unique collection comprising thousands of fossils of incalculable cultural and scientific value.