Casa-Museu de Leal da Câmara can be found in the house where Mestre (Master) Leal da Câmara lived since 1930 until his death in 1948. The building at one time belonged to Sebastião José de Carvalho e Melo - the Marquis of Pombal and at the time served as the staging post for the changeover of horses located between the Granja do Marquês Estate (Quinta da Granja do Marquês) in Terrugem, Sintra and the Palácio de Oeiras (Oeiras Palace).
In the 19th century it became a field hospital for Portuguese troops during the French invasions. Donated to Sintra Town Hall in 1965 upon the death of the Masters widow, the museum has, since then, provided the population with a unique cultural service dedicated to the life and work of the artist.
The building where the Núcleo dos Saloios (Peasants' Centre) of the Leal da Câmara Museum is based owes its existence firstly to Jorge Segurado who, in 1919 designed a building which was to become the Portuguese Ethnographic Museum based in Flanders, and later to Leal da Câmara who revived the original design to house a primary school. Since 21July 2003, the building has housed an exhibition of the artists peasant collections.
Collections / Heritage
Painting, furniture, caricature, drawing, fabrics, ceramics. Photographic, as well as correspondence and documentation archives. Glazed tiles.
Casa-Museu de Leal da Câmara
Calçada da Rinchoa, 67
Rio de Mouro
Tel: +35121 916 43 03
Fax: +35121 916 43 03
10.00h - 18.00h
Sat-Sun: 12.00h - 18.00h
Last admission - 1h before closing
Closed on Monday and holidays